Afterthoughts

The simplicity of life in hindsight

A Naked Soul

work based on a photograph seen in the press. ...

Image via Wikipedia

The difference between the evolution of the human race and that of the human soul is explicit in simplicity yet subtle in its similarity. Humans over the years have learned the art of clothing themselves and embellishing themselves in an attempt to take refuge behind a veil of pretentiousness.  During an age when the craze is to adorn the most beautiful camouflage, the most devious veil, it’s not often that you meet a soul oblivious to this evolution, a soul that has refused over the years to adorn the veil of pretentiousness. The beauty of such a soul sticks out like that of the demeanor of a drunken ant in a long queue of goal oriented ants. I’m not ashamed to say that over the years, I’ve found myself knitting together a beautiful veil for myself, a veil that I’m now ashamed of. We try so hard to be unique, however, in this pursuit of individuality we find our true selves to be lost, often lost beyond redemption. This post is not about me, but about a soul untouched by all vices that exist around it, a soul who I have known for about a fortnight, and a soul who I’ve understood only today.

4 responses to “A Naked Soul

  1. Harsha June 27, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Very beautifully written. Short, but genuine. Nice read it was.

    Good luck!

  2. Bodhirose June 28, 2011 at 3:04 am

    I was one of those who was linked to your blog under “Related Articles”. I enjoyed your posting very much. It’s a rare occurrence to find someone who is not “veiled” in some way. You’re right, they would stick out–but maybe only if you are looking and aware. Many would not notice even though extraordinary.

    I’m glad I came by today. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

