Afterthoughts

The simplicity of life in hindsight

A Letter To Manchester

Club crest of Manchester United F.C. in the 19...

Image via Wikipedia

Dear Sir Alex,

I hope this letter finds you well. My commiserations for what happened at Wembley.  I cannot begin to explain how agonizing it was to watch yesterday’s game, I’m sure you must have felt the agony too. I know you’ve been managing this club since the day I was born, and hence I would definitely understand, if you were filled with trepidation in taking my advice to heart. Regardless, as a devout United fan, I think it’s my duty to tell you what I feel.

Firstly, my heartiest congratulations for the 19th title. Oh and nice touch with the banner in Anfield, I guess that new telephone wired to your seat finally came in handy. I’ve been told from reliable sources that you’ve got 160 million dollars to spend this summer, and no, I’m not talking about spending your bank balance at Macy’s. I’m talking about your transfer budget.

You’ve done an absolutely splendid jobs with many of the signings; I like the infusion of Brazilian talent into our ranks. Anderson has the talent to fill even Roy Keane’s shoes, he hasn’t stepped up yet, but I have faith just like you do. The Da Silva brothers are ones for the future, I can see a future when we have the defensive lines patrolled on either side by the Brazilian wing backs. And as for the little pea, hats off for that one, you’ve just got us our new baby-faced assassin.  However, I think it’s time for a new midfield. It’s time to thank Ryan and Paul for all that they’ve done for us, and it’s time to organize their testimonial games.

I think it’s time that you recognize that Michael Carrick is just not good enough for United, I think  it’s time you own up for the mistake that was Bebe, I think it’s time you realize that Park can’t run for us forever, I think it’s time you realize that O’ Shea cannot play every position forever. I know, it’s unbearable, the thought of having to part with Ryan, Paul, Park and John. But it has to be done.

What’s happened to the days when we could turn to our No 7? Where’s our Cantona? our Robson? our Beckham? our Ronaldo? We’ve always had a genius adorning the number 7. We need our genius, Sir. And you can rest assure, it’s not Owen.

We United fans are no strangers to losing, we can stand the odd 1-0 defeat handed to us by a scrappy goal or a loss by a poor refereeing decision or a loss because we played like we don’t care, but we can’t stand being outclassed. But yesterday, as much as I hate to admit it, there was only one team exuding class, and it was Barcelona. If yesterday’s defeat didn’t open your eyes to how far behind we stand, I don’t know what will. Spend the money you have, don’t worry too much about the inflated prices, give us our Number 7, and bring back the Glory.

Yours Faithfully,

A Hopeful Manchester United Fan.

Leave a Reply

